276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Mickey7: 1

£9.9£99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

The author chose to focus mainly on the question of whether all these clones were really the same person, or not, and whether the original Mickey even still existed.

It draws readers in with flippant black humor and a clever premise, then stabs them in the back with devastating insight into the human talent for suppressing intolerable truths. I’m too far out to pick up any of the colony repeaters, but Berto must still be close, because I’m getting just a hint of a signal. I start to pull off the glove, thinking that maybe the cold will help keep the swelling down, but another jolt of pain stops that experiment almost before it’s started.As the book opens, he's doing perimeter reconnaissance and falls through a crust of ice into a deep crevasse. This book has that quality and I felt immersed and excited to continue the story every time I picked it up. I'm a scientist myself, and I like to make sure everything I put into my books is at least plausible.

Tonally, it's a good fit for fans of The Martian or The Murderbot Diaries, but I was hoping for a little more heft, probably because I enjoyed the premise and worldbuilding so much. It helps that the writing style was just so readable and I had that feeling throughout of being in capable hands, with an author who knows just how to craft his tale so that you end the book wanting more, whilst having experienced a well rounded and satisfying story arc.Being a history major, in a day and age where everyone has ready access to any history information they need, did not prepare Mickey for any type space mission related job. He lives in upstate New York in a cabin in the woods (not that cabin in the woods) with his wife, a variable number of daughters, and an adorably mopey dog named Max.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment